Strange one…

*** Update: Masterfood has decided that it will not switch to the non-vegetarian rennet!***

Mars, Twix, Snickers & Co will soon be off the menu for vegetarians, because of a change in the way they are produced. The maker of the bars has decided to switch ingredients and now uses animal rennet (which is made using veal stomach) instead of non-vegetarian one, which was previously used.
This decision seems really rather strange from a marketing point of view, given that it will mean a sizable part of the population will no longer be able to eat their products, and some may choose to no longer eat their products,…(”Have some sliced veal stomach with your chocolate, sir?”).
Normally, one would have assumed that most companies try to maximise their potential customers (even if they are not traditionally associated with or targeting that particular customer base), but trying to specifically exclude customers is a rather rare idea…

Photo Credit: sypix.